虚拟私有网络(VPN)初学者指南

分享
Copied to clipboard!
虚拟私有网络(VPN)初学者指南

目录 


简介

在数字时代,您的互联网服务提供商(或ISP)是您访问网络世界的门户。ISP所提供的业务就是将您链接到全球其他计算机那里,向您出售互联网的订阅服务。如果没有ISP,您将无法实现轻松上网,包括浏览社交媒体或在Netflix上欣赏自己喜欢的节目。

然而,在这种模式下,您所处的位置较为弱势。ISP将自己变成了中间人,成为您和其他网站之间通讯的直接参与者。此外,互联网的结构让您每次访问网站时都必须透露自己的位置。

幸运的是,VPN可以帮助您预防此类问题的发生。


什么是VPN?

VPN(或虚拟专用网络)是利用公用网络,在您设备和其他网络之间建立的一个安全隧道。例如,它可以用于连接您和公司之间的网络,或者仅用于浏览网页而无需向网站透露您的详细信息。


VPN的工作原理

要了解VPN的工作原理,重要的是要熟悉您设备和网站之间的常规通信方式。


家中设备和网站之间的简化路由。

家中设备和网站之间的简化路由。 


假设您想通过笔记本电脑或智能手机(a)访问“I Love Honey Badgers”网站(e)。您在地址栏中输入该网站易于记忆的名称(例如,ilovehoneybadgers.com),但实际上您的计算机将该域名转换为一串数字。该串数字就是站点的IP地址,类似于物理地址。比如您在邮寄信件时,您需要告知邮政局信件目的地址。同样的,您对在线传输的数据也需要执行相同的操作。

您的设备无法直接连接到互联网(d)。它需要先与可传递信息的设备进行链接。在家里,您可能有一台将多个设备连接到互联网的路由器(b)。然后,路由器与您的ISP(c)通信,后者再将您连接到互联网上。通过这种方式,您的请求可以被路由到您正在访问的网站(e)。

通常情况下,网站需要知道向哪里返回请求的信息,所以它必须知道您的IP地址。因此,无论在何时只要您通过这种方式和服务器进行通信,他们都会对您的位置进行记录。

很多情况中,该级别下泄露信息的程度令人震惊。您虽然可以对发送的数据进行加密,但是IP地址却暴露了很多关于您的信息。例如,您的ISP可能不知道您在阅读“I Love Honey Badgers”上的Honey Badgers,但却能够看到您正在尝试访问该域名。  

如果您想对访问的网站和位置进行加密,就需要使用VPN。

您使用商业VPN服务进行网页浏览的时候,通常会进行如下操作:

  1. 您选择相应的VPN服务,支付后进行订阅。
  2. 您会收到用于身份验证的凭据信息。
  3. 安装VPN客户端实现与VPN服务器通信。
  4. 通过隧道协议,在您的设备和服务器之间建立安全连接。相关的协议有OpenVPN、L2TP/IPSec和PPTP。
  5. 当您要访问网页时,您需要通过该隧道将数据传递到服务器上。
  6. VPN服务器从网站上请求信息,并通过VPN隧道将响应信息返回给您。

隧道协议在您的设备和VPN服务器之间创建了专用通道。然后对内部信息进行加密,使外部用户无法读取和访问。由于您的互联网流量现在是通过另一台服务器路由,因此该网站将无法获取您的真实IP和位置,而只能看到VPN服务器的IP地址和位置。如果您居住在美国并连接到在印度的VPN服务器,那么访问任何网站时,都会认为您是在印度。


在您的设备和VPN服务器之间建立了加密隧道。

在您的设备和VPN服务器之间建立了加密隧道。 


从这个层面上讲,您可能认为VPN服务器有点像Tor网络上的出口节点。请求的信息来源经过混淆处理,并通过互联网进行隧道化传输,使其看起来好像来自其他位置。


为什么要使用VPN?

有很多VPN的应用案例。您可能已经在企业中用过该技术,因为它能够让员工通过安全的方式远程访问公司内部网络。此外,您还可能使用VPN来解除对您所在国家/地区对某些站点的访问限制。这里需要注意,对于ISP来说,您的这些操作就像是在访问随机服务器,而并不是那些敏感的网站。

另一个非常有吸引力能够让您使用VPN的原因是,它能提升您在线隐私和安全性。互联网的体系架构要求用户进行积极主动的防护,以确保他们的在线安全。如果用户过于被动或不够谨慎,就有遭受暴露或被黑客攻击的风险。

当我们浏览网页时,我们可能会将某些信息泄露出去或落入不法分子手中。恶意行为者和一些企业都将个人数据视为一种宝贵的资源。使用VPN,不仅可以防止ISP收集您的数据,还可以隐藏您的地理位置。总的来说,VPN能够让其他人更难发现您。

如果您使用的是公共WiFi网络,则必须了解其危险性。虽然您可以通过自家WiFi提升一定程度的安全隐私性,但如果您连接到了咖啡厅的路由器,则无法提供类似保障。实际上,公共WiFi热点是恶意行为者的重点目标。如果必须要使用它们,那么强烈建议您同时使用VPN进行保护。还要选择基于HTTPS协议而非HTTP协议的网站,因为前者使用了SSL/TLS进行加密连接。

您可以在“为什么公共Wifi是不安全的”一文中,详细了解有关公共WiFi的风险。


使用VPN的利弊

VPN的优点

位置的隐匿性

使用VPN,您的互联网请求就像是来自其他位置。这样一来,您就可以绕开所在国家/地区对访问某些网站的限制,或绕开该网站所在的地理位置。


更高的安全性

由于您的通信是通过加密隧道进行传输的,因此除了端点(即VPN提供商)之外的任何人都无法访问它们。这种加密的连接可防止ISP、黑客和其他间谍收集您的数据。如果您访问的站点正在使用HTTPS,那么VPN服务器也看不到您请求的内容。他们只会知道您正在访问哪个网站。


更强的隐私性

除了能够有效防止ISP了解您在网上所做的事情之外,您还可以阻止正在浏览的网站定位您的位置。


低成本和多样选择

只需简单的了解,您就可以自己设置VPN。另外,在数百个国家/地区中,有许多提供商可以为您提供VPN服务器。有些提供了适用于移动和桌面操作系统的专用程序,而另一些仅需要您通过开源软件进行连接。


VPN的缺点

速度较慢

可以断定通过VPN的连接通常比常规连接要慢一些。毕竟,您要在设备和所访问的网站之间增加至少一个额外的步骤。例如,如果您在英国并且使用了在澳大利亚的VPN服务器,那么不仅需要考虑延迟,还需要考虑服务器的上传/下载速度。


Vpn提供者会掌握您的信息

虽然对外界来说,您的IP地址被屏蔽掉,但却无法被VPN提供商屏蔽。他们可能会保留您的活动日志,并在某些情况下将其移交给政府机构。他们也可以将其出售给其他公司。这就是为什么在选择VPN提供商之前,一定要做好研究和比较。


可能是非法的

在一些国家/地区法律禁止VPN的使用,并采用深度数据包检测等技术来识别用户是否有使用VPN的行为。在这些地区,掩盖您的网络流量可能会给您带来法律风险,并可能会让您被有关机构关注。


不仅如此

VPN并不是在线匿名性的一键式解决方案。实际上,还存在许多其他监控互联网用户的方式,而面对这些技术时,VPN只能给人提供一种安全感的安慰罢了。


前往币安购买比特币,来开启你的加密货币世界!


VPN的最佳实践

无论您是刚决定使用还是已经使用过VPN,关于VPN的工作方式都需要进行详细的了解。

您可以决定自行创建VPN,因为您不信任互联网服务提供商。这也是您使用VPN的正当理由,但您同样应该意识到,您对ISP的不信任不会完全消除。取而代之的是,您只是将对ISP的不信任转移到了VPN提供商那里。

因此,最重要的是选择一个您信任的VPN提供者。如果您不熟悉VPN行业,您可能想知道从哪里开始选择。现在,我们将概述在购买订阅时需要关注的一些事项。


选择具有良好口碑的提供商

因为会涉及到您的在线隐私时,所以尽量不要选择廉价的VPN服务。可以想象,免费的VPN提供商会以某种方式从您的数据中获利。甚至造成最坏的影响,恶意软件的安装会给您带来的弊大于利。

您可以花费每个月的咖啡钱寻找到信誉良好的VPN服务。阅读有关各种产品的公开评论,比较成本、速度和服务器位置。如果您对此很重视,那么也有必要阅读其服务条款。有许多公正的测评网站可以为您提供比较服务,帮助您做出决定。与选择加密货币一样,请自己进行研究


具有优良的功能属性

每个人的威胁模型都有所不同。为了更加注重隐私,您可能要考虑提供以下属性的VPN程序。


自由监视司法管辖区

Five Eyes是相互分享情报的国家联盟。最初是英国和美国之间的协议,现在已扩展到加拿大、澳大利亚和新西兰。这些国家相互分享有关公民的信息。

尽管(据称)在信息共享方面不是那么严格,Nine Eyes(也包括法国,荷兰,丹麦和挪威)和Fourteen Eyes(瑞典、西班牙、德国、意大利和比利时)也是该联盟的扩展。

隐私权维护者警告用户不要使用在这些辖区注册的VPN。如果您位于Five Eyes的国家,并且通过基于Five Eyes的VPN服务器访问互联网,您的政府仍然可以请求您的网络活动。同样,您是否认为有此必要取决于您的风险状况。有些人认为去规避这些管辖权是没不要的。


互联网的中止开关

许多VPN都具有“中止开关”的功能,该功能是一种安全措施,如果VPN协议无法正常工作,则会切断您的网络连接。这是一种便利机制,可以防止VPN发生故障时意外泄漏IP地址。


日志隐私政策

致力于保护用户隐私的VPN提供商通常采用“无日志”策略。这只是意味着他们不会保留您的活动日志。需要注意的是,您无法验证VPN提供商是否能够实现这一点。该业务可能是虚假的。近期历史中有一些“无日志”提供程序的案例,而这些VPN提供商被迫与授权机构共享有关用户的数据。

有些人认为所谓能够提供“无日志”策略的VPN提供商都是虚假的,因为收集一定数据是非常有必要的。因此,用户应寻找能够清楚保留其所有数据明细的公司。


对加密货币十分友好

如果您想要把VPN用于保护在线隐私,那么您很可能不喜欢共享您的个人信息。您的借记卡和信用卡的详细信息可能是您拥有的最敏感信息,因此可以理解的是,优质的VPN提供商可以提供可替代的支付解决方案。许多功能可以让您使用一系列加密货币进行支付,而不仅仅是获得更好的私人体验。


支持多设备

某些订阅能够您不仅可以保护PC(无论是Windows、Mac还是Linux),还可以保护智能手机和IoT设备。如果要确保覆盖整个家庭网络,则可能需要可在多个设备上使用订阅服务。


总结

无论您是在家中使用还是在公共网络上,虚拟专用网都迅速成为互联网访问中不可或缺的工具。廉价但高效的VPN服务,能够让您在ISP和所访问的网站之间保护您贵重的个人信息。

但是,重要的是要知道VPN并非灵丹妙药。线上的完全匿名只是一个想象,因为对手有无数种方法来获取您的数据。Cookie和设备指纹识别之类的内容也会泄漏很多信息。为了避免各类常见的安全隐患,应将VPN与其他安全和隐私技术结合使用。


如果您有关于VPN的更多问题?可以前往Ask Academy提问!

Loading

A Beginner's Guide to VPNs

Share
Copied to clipboard!
A Beginner's Guide to VPNs

Contents


Introduction

In the digital era, your Internet service provider (or ISP) is your gateway to the online world. These businesses are the ones that sell you your Internet subscription and connect you to other machines worldwide. Without ISPs, you can't easily get online to indulge in social media or stream your favorite shows on Netflix.

Unfortunately, this puts you in a somewhat vulnerable position. ISPs insert themselves as middlemen, becoming parties to any communication between you and websites. In addition, the Internet structure is such that you end up revealing your location whenever you visit a website. 

Fortunately, VPNs can help prevent those kinds of issues.


What is a VPN?

A VPN (or Virtual Private Network) is a secure tunnel that connects your device to another network over the Internet. It can be used to connect to corporate networks, for instance, or simply to browse the web without revealing your details to websites. 


How does a VPN work?

To understand what a VPN does, it's important to grasp how regular communications work between you and a website. 


A simplified route from your devices at home to a website.

A simplified route from your devices at home to a website.


Suppose that you want to access the I Love Honey Badgers website (e) from your laptop or smartphone (a). You type a human-readable name into the address bar (i.e., ilovehoneybadgers.com), but your machine translates it into a number. That number is the site's IP address, which is a bit like a physical address. When you send a letter, you need to let the postal office know what address it's going to. In essence, you do the same for data transmitted online.

Your device isn't connected directly to the Internet (d). It needs to link up with something that can pass the message along. In your house, you probably have a router (b) to which you connect multiple devices. The router then communicates with your ISP (c), which connects to the Internet. From there, your request can be routed along to the website you're visiting (e).

Of course, the website needs to know where to return the requested information, so it must know your IP address. Therefore, anytime you communicate with services in this manner, they have an idea of where you are.

To many, the degree to which information is public at this level is alarming. You can encrypt the data that you send, but IP addresses reveal a lot about your intent. For instance, your ISP might not know that you're reading about honey badgers on I Love Honey Badgers, but it'll see that you're trying to access that domain. 

If you want to be private about the websites you visit – and your location – you should use a VPN.

For commercial VPNs that you're using to browse, that typically works as follows:

  1. You purchase a subscription from a VPN service.
  2. You receive credentials to authenticate yourself.
  3. You install a VPN client to communicate with the VPN server.
  4. A tunneling protocol establishes a secure connection between your device and the server. Examples of possible protocols include OpenVPN, L2TP/IPSec, and PPTP.
  5. When you want to access a webpage, you pass the data through the tunnel to reach the server.
  6. The server requests the information from the webpage and returns the response through the VPN tunnel to you.

The tunneling protocol creates a sort of private channel between your device and the VPN server. The information inside is then encrypted so that outsiders can't read or access it. Because your Internet traffic is now routed through another server, the website won't be able to see your real IP and location, but only the ones provided by the VPN. If you lived in the US and connected to a server in India, any website would assume that you were based in India.


An encrypted tunnel is established between your device and your VPN server.

An encrypted tunnel is established between your device and your VPN server.


In that sense, you could think of the server a bit like an exit node on the Tor network. The source of the request is obfuscated and piped through the Internet to make it look like it's coming from a different location.


Why should you use a VPN?

There are numerous VPN use cases. You might already use one in your business, as it allows employees remote access to the company's intranet in a secure manner. Alternatively, you might want to use a VPN to unblock sites that are restricted in your country. Remember that, to ISPs, it just looks like you're accessing a random server – not censored websites.

Another extremely compelling reason to use a VPN is for your online privacy and security. The very architecture of the Internet requires that its users must be proactive to ensure they're staying safe. If they are too passive or not careful enough, they risk being exposed or hacked. 

Every time we go online, we leak information that could fall into the wrong hands. Personal data is increasingly viewed as a valuable resource, both by malicious actors and legitimate businesses. With a VPN, you not only prevent data-gathering by your ISP, but you can also hide your geographic location. Ultimately, VPNs make it harder for others to find out who you are.

If you're using public WiFi networks, it's essential that you understand the dangers. Though you could expect a degree of privacy from your home WiFi, your local coffee shop's router offers no such guarantee. In fact, public WiFi hotspots are a playground for malicious actors. If you absolutely must use them, VPN protection is highly recommended. At the bare minimum, opt for websites that rely on the HTTPS protocol instead of HTTP, as the former encrypts the connection with SSL/TLS.

Read more about the risks associated with public WiFi in Why Public WiFi is Insecure.


Pros and cons of using a VPN

Pros of VPNs

Location spoofing

With a VPN, your internet connection appears to be coming from a different location. This allows you to bypass your country's restrictions on accessing certain sites or to circumvent geo-blocks that the site has in place.


Stronger security

Because your communications pass through an encrypted tunnel, no one but the endpoint (i.e., the VPN provider) can make sense of them. This encrypted connection prevents ISPs, hackers, and other spies from harvesting your data. If the site you're accessing is using HTTPS, then the VPN server cannot see the contents of your request. They'll only know what site you're accessing.


Greater privacy

On top of preventing your ISP from learning what you're doing online, you further prevent the websites that you're browsing from determining your location. 


Cost and variety 

With a little effort, you can set up a VPN by yourself. Alternatively, there are many providers offering access to servers in hundreds of countries. Some come with proprietary applications for both mobile and desktop operating systems, while others simply require that you connect through open-source software.


Cons of VPNs

Slower speeds

It stands to reason that VPN connections are often slower than regular ones. After all, you're introducing at least one additional step between your device and the websites you visit. For instance, if you're in the UK and use a server in Australia, you not only need to consider the latency, but also the server's upload/download speeds.


Providers know who you are 

Your IP address is masked to the outside world, but not to the VPN provider. There's a possibility that they keep logs of your activity and, in some cases, turn it over to government agencies. They could also sell it to other parties. That's why it's important to research and compare the VPN providers before picking one.


Possibly illegal

Some nations outlaw the use of VPNs, employing techniques like deep packet inspection to identify users. In these jurisdictions, attempting to mask your network traffic may cause you legal trouble and can make you stand out to authorities.


Not enough

VPNs are by no means a one-click solution for online anonymity. They can provide a false sense of security, when, in reality, there are many other methods for surveilling Internet users.


➠ Looking to get started with cryptocurrency? Buy Bitcoin on Binance!


Best VPN practices

Whether you've just decided to take the plunge or already have a VPN, there are some things you need to know about how your chosen VPN operates.

You could decide to set up a VPN because you don't trust your Internet service provider. It's a valid reason for doing so, but you should be aware that you're not abolishing trust altogether. Instead, you're taking it out of the hands of your ISP and placing it in those of the VPN provider.

It's, therefore, important that you pick a provider that you trust. If you're unfamiliar with the VPN industry in general, you might be wondering where to start. We'll now outline some things to look out for when shopping for a subscription.


Good reputation

When it comes to your online privacy, you don't want to go for the cheapest VPN option. At best, free VPN providers will profit from your data in some way. At worst, you could be installing malware that does a lot more harm than good.

Reputable services can be found for the cost of coffee monthly. Read impartial reviews on the various offerings, compare costs, speeds and server locations. If you are serious about it, you might want to check their Terms of Services as well. There are numerous unbiased sites that present side-by-side comparisons to help you decide. As with cryptocurrencydo your own research!


Desirable attributes

Everyone's threat model will be different. For the more privacy-conscious, you might want to  consider VPN providers that offer the following attributes.


Surveillance-free jurisdictions

The Five Eyes is an alliance of countries that share intelligence with each other. Originally an agreement between the UK and the USA, it has since expanded to include Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. These nations controversially share information about their citizens with each other. 

Though (allegedly) not as rigorous in their information-sharing, the Nine Eyes (which also include France, Holland, Denmark, and Norway) and the Fourteen Eyes (+ Sweden, Spain, Germany, Italy, and Belgium) are extensions of this alliance.

Privacy activists warn against using VPNs domiciled in these jurisdictions. If you're in a Five Eyes nation and access the Internet through Five-Eyes-based VPN servers, your government would still be able to request your activity. Again, whether you feel this is necessary depends on your risk profile. Some perceive the avoidance of these jurisdictions to be overkill.


Internet kill switches

Many VPNs incorporate a feature known as a "kill switch," which is a security measure that cuts your network connection if the VPN protocol isn't working properly. It's a handy mechanism that can prevent you from accidentally leaking your IP address should your VPN malfunction.


Logging policy

VPN providers committed to protecting the privacy of their users typically adopt a "no logs" policy. This simply means that they won't keep a log of your activity. It should be noted that there's no way for you to verify this. The business could be lying. There are examples in recent history of "no log" providers that have been compelled to share data about users with authorities.

Some suggest that any provider boasting a "zero log" approach is disingenuous, as some data has to be collected. As a result, users should seek out companies that provide clear breakdowns of any data they retain.


Cryptocurrency-friendly

If you want a VPN for online privacy purposes, chances are that you dislike sharing your personal information. Your debit and credit card details are perhaps some of the most sensitive information you own, so it's understandable that good providers offer alternative payment solutions. Many enable you to pay via a range of cryptocurrencies instead for a more private experience.


Multi-device support

Some subscriptions allow you to protect not only your PC (whether Windows, Mac or Linux), but smartphones and IoT devices. If you want to ensure coverage across your entire home network, a subscription that can be used on multiple devices may be desirable.


Closing thoughts

Virtual private networks are fast becoming an integral tool for Internet access, whether you're at home or on public networks. Cheap but efficient, VPNs allow you to protect valuable personal information from both your ISP and the websites that you access.

Nonetheless, it's important to understand that VPNs aren't silver bullets. Total anonymity online is something of a myth, as there are innumerable ways for adversaries to gain access to your data. Things like cookies and device fingerprinting can leak a lot of information, too. To avoid common security pitfalls, VPNs should be used in combination with other security and privacy technologies.


➠ Questions about VPNs? Head over to Ask Academy!

Loading